Coach B's Lax Blog

Lacrosse – Anything & Everything – What else is there?

Coaches continue to learn too!!

Posted by Barry Marenberg on January 23, 2011

Contrary to what most of my players would likely believe, even coaches continue to learn more and more about lacrosse and coaching.  Just because a coach’s playing days have long ended and even after some successful seasons, like any other topic in life, there’s always something new to learn.

I know the game of lacrosse well.  I understand the rules and ways to run plays.  I have a good understand of what works well and what doesn’t work so well.  But there’s always something more I don’t know.  To that end I spent last weekend in Baltimore at the 2011 U.S. Lacrosse Coaches Convention.  This is an annual get-together of men’s and women’s youth, high school and college lacrosse coaches.   Numerous professional lacrosse players attend and along with many top-notch high school and college coaches, they offer a selection of nearly 100 different sessions over 3 days on topics that range from starting a lacrosse program to off-season conditioning to more specific aspects of running offenses and defenses for lacrosse teams.

The convention takes place in a huge hall similar to the Javits Center in NYC.  Some of the sessions have live demonstrations and others are lectures and presentations.  Since I was a defenseman and have a lot of knowledge in that area,  this year I focussed more on the offensive sessions and sessions about goaltending.  I returned home from Baltimore with pages and pages of notes that I will be studying as I prepare for the rapidly approaching Chiefs season.

I always reiterate to my players that family and education come before lacrosse.  That applies to this coach as well who went to LAX SCHOOL this weekend!

Honor the Game!

– Coach B

Leave a Reply

 
