Coach B's Lax Blog

Lacrosse – Anything & Everything – What else is there?

Team THUNDERSTRUCK – 2010 FDU Fall Ball Champs!

Posted by Barry Marenberg on November 8, 2010


The Champs!!

Words cannot convey how proud I am of each and every one of my players.  We started this whole thing with tryouts back in August and said we would go with whatever team was selected for us.  EVERY player contributed to this Championship season in so many ways.  It was great to have players from four different towns come together as a cohesive team and bond together over a period of almost 3 months.  The level of skill got better and better with each week.

We rolled along from the start with 3 big wins in a row before we came up against Sparta in game 4.  That game was an eye-opener from us.  We licked our wounds for a week and got right back to business winning the next 3 straight games to end with the #2 seed and a rematch against Sparta in the Championship.

What a Championship game it was.  We had the prime time game – 6pm on the turf under the lights.  It was a cold and windy evening but both teams were fired up from the start.  Since we knew well that Sparta was fast and powerful I told my players that we were going to switch up lines quickly and continuously to keep fresh bodies out on the field.  I also told my players that they would have to play DEFENSE non-stop no matter what position they were playing on the field.  I also told the players they were 50 minutes from a Championship and if that didn’t stick, nothing else I could say would!  THUNDERSTUCK scored first and the score was close for much of the game.  From start to finish it was a great, hard-fought lax game.  As time wound down in the second half, THUNDERSTRUCK had a 2 goal lead.  Sparta scored once more to move within one.  THUNDERSTRUCK won the ensuing face-off and was able to move the ball around and keep it down on Sparta’s half of the field as time expired. 

Thanks to Coach Pat Scarpello and FDU for providing a great Fall Lax Season.


Tyler Lawton                            Hudson Barth                    Ryan Pope
Doug Anderson                       Nicholas Castagna           Chris Reynolds
Mario Argenziano                  Zachary Lima                    Liam Carney
Zander Marenberg                 Pete Dobbs                         Sean Hannaford
Connor Morang                       Patrick Trezza                  Eric Nieves
Cole Herrigel                            Greg Scaturo                     Billy Vignali
Frankie Appolonia


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: